PDA

View Full Version : Confused to Tow

fotozeman
08-28-2010, 11:33 PM
I have a Nissan Quest MiniVan, rated 3500#. I went to a dealer today, and they basically told me that I would not be able to tow a Trail Manor, not even the 2619, that basically all I would be able to tow would be a pop up. I am new to trailering, so I am a bit confused what I can really tow.

In simple terms, does anyone have any suggestions for what to look for in a trailer weight that I can tow with my Quest?

Also, does anybody have any experiences of towing Trail Manor trailers, possibly the 2619, or 2720, with vehicles rated at 3500# such as mini vans?

We really like the design of the Trail Manor Trailers better than the Pop Up Trailers, but if we really shouldn't tow them with our Quest, then we will have to begin searching other options.

Thanks for any ideas or help.

PopBeavers
08-29-2010, 01:48 AM
Whatever the base weight of the trailer is.figure about 10,000 pounds for "stuff"

My 2720, only a foot longer than the 2619, weighs about 4,100 when I tow it wet and loaded.

I can't comment about the Quest.

wbmiller3
08-29-2010, 05:55 AM
1000 pounds for stuff?

seandunn1020
08-29-2010, 06:06 AM
I tow a 2619 with toyota sienna that has the 3500lb towing rating. I do have a weight distribution hitch and tow bars and brake control. I pull the camper fully loaded with 2 kids and 2dogs and a lot of stuff. When pulling the trailmanor, the minivan rides very low in the back, it would be nice to have an suv so it would be higher up in the rear. It does tow nicely at speeds of 65, and we get about 16 mpg. I have had to replace the front and rear brakes and the rear shocks on the minivan after i have started towing it, but the minivan had 70,000 miles on it. I have traveled about 10,000 miles cross country with the trailmanor over mountains and have not had any problems with the performance of the minivan itself. That is the reason we bought the trailmanor so we would not have to change vehicles.