TrailManor Owner's Forum  

Go Back   TrailManor Owner's Forum > TrailManor Technical Discussions > General Maintenance and Cleaning
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Old 03-13-2012, 07:25 AM   #1
guitartom

Default touch up paint

Does anyone know what the proper touch up paint for dings and scratches is?
Old 03-13-2012, 07:37 AM   #2
brulaz

I thought I did.

Covered some plastic on the Elkmont's roof with Rust-Oleum "Marine Topside" white paint that I got at Lowe's. Claims that it is UV, abrasion and weather resistant and for use on fibreglass, wood and metal.

The only trouble is that a year later it is grey from mold. Ugh. Luckily, it can't normally be seen.

So if you find something, make sure it is mold resistant. And I'd like to hear about it.
Old 03-13-2012, 10:46 AM   #3
Bill
Site Team

Location: The mountains of Scottsdale, AZ, and the beaches of Maine

Tom -

I have no experience with this, so take it with the usual. My thoughts are these.

o If you find a touch-up paint that matches the color, it probably won't match the gloss since the Krystal Kote layer is gone. Perhaps if you use a glossy paint it will look OK.
o Be sure to prep the area carefully and then apply the paint quickly, since exposed aluminum oxidizes virtaully instantly. And of course be sure to get a paint that will adhere to aluminum.
o If you want a finish layer that is more or less like Krystal Kote, there is some sketchy info about it in the TM Technical Library.

I am quite sure that someone here had identified the right color, and had some luck with touch-up. Have you spent some time with the Search tool?

Bill
Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 11:28 AM   #4
Bill
Site Team

Location: The mountains of Scottsdale, AZ, and the beaches of Maine