TrailManor Owner's Forum  

Go Back   TrailManor Owner's Forum > TrailManor Technical Discussions > Plumbing
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Old 02-23-2009, 11:56 AM   #1
ShrimpBurrito
Site Sponsor

Default PEX tubing leaking - suggestions?

While camping this weekend, I noticed the water pump was cycling every 10 minutes or so while the water was off. I started looking for leaks, and quickly found at least 2 at PEX joints under the sink. I think I've pulled that sink out at least 4 times, so here goes a 5th. It's such a pain getting those clips on/off with the water tank under there.

Anyway, I've never worked with PEX before, so just looking for any advice.

1) First, I understand the blue rings can be challenging to remove. I'm sure I could go after them with a dremel, but it's very tight under there. Is the removal tool that much easier? (I've read here Home Depot rents the crimper, at least)

2) I assume I'll have to replace the blue bands, but should I also replace the connectors? What about the tubing? There are probably a zillion joints under there, and everything is at a specific length to fit into the tight space. I cannot believe the factory wedged a piece of tubing in between the water tank and water heather. It's compressed....

To make a new connection, you just slip the band over the tubing a connector and crimp?

I thought about replacing the whole mess with reinforced tubing, but I'm not sure if how it would freeze compared to PEX. Also, doubt it would gravity drain like the PEX supposedly does now.

Many thanks,
Dave
ShrimpBurrito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009, 12:45 PM   #2
Wavery
TrailManor Master

Dave,

Before going to all that hassle, try twisting the tubing inside the joint.